ABOUT

As of January 2018, approximately 24,000 students in grades 11 and 12, in some 420 Ontario high schools, study philosophy. This is the largest number of students in a single jurisdiction in the English-speaking world.

ACCREDITATION
The Ontario Philosophy Teachers' Association (OPTA) is the official subject association for philosophy teachers in Ontario public and Catholic high schools. OPTA is recognized as such by the Ontario Ministry of Education, the Ontario College of Teachers, and the Curriculum Forum of the Ontario Federation of Teachers.

MANDATE
OPTA is committed:

To these ends, OPTA is mandated:

GOVERNANCE
OPTA is a not-for-profit educational organization run by volunteers. There is no annual membership fee and no membership identification is issued. The source of all operating funds is the fee charged for attendance at the annual conference.

The members of the Executive Committee are:

Kenneth Peglar
OPTA President and Secretary
Retired
kpeglar@rogers.com
info@ontariophilosophy.ca

Vince Dannetta
Canada & World Studies Department
University of Toronto Schools
vdannetta@utschools.ca

Stephanie Gibson-Hardie
Humberside Collegiate Institute
Toronto District School Board
stephanie.gibson@tdsb.on.ca

Trevor Norris, PhD
Associate Professor
Social Foundations of Education
Brock University
brocku.academia.edu/trevornorris

Jamie Smith
Adjunct Professor
Pathways Programs
Humber College
jamie.smith@humber.ca

Dana Wallace
OPTA Treasurer
Curriculum Consultant
York Region District School Board
(905) 7272-0022 Ex. 3435
dana.wallace@yrdsb.ca

Craig Dougall
Dunbarton High School
Durham District School Board
craig.dougall@ddsb.ca

Joseph Longo
Chair, English & Modern Languages
St. Mary Catholic Secondary School
Durham Catholic District School Board
joseph.longo@dcdsb.ca

Anne Thompson (née Pringle)
King City Secondary School
York Region District School Board
anne.thompson@yrdsb.ca


TEACHER CERTIFICATION
Philosophy is a teachable subject in Ontario high schools. This means that certification to teach the subject is provided by the Ontario College of Teachers only when a high school teacher completes the teacher-training in philosophy pedagogy provided by a Ministry-approved university Faculty of Education. Pre-requisites and entrance requirements may vary with the institution. For more information, visit https://www.oct.ca/public/professional-standards/how-teachers-are-certified.

It is important to remember that philosophy is a senior elective subject. Although a teacher may be qualified to teach philosophy, it may not be an available subject. The assignment of elective subjects depends entirely on enrollment and the discretion of the principal. Enrollment in senior elective subjects can vary widely from year to year.

Copyright © Ontario Philosophy Teachers' Association. All Rights Reserved.